NFQ Awarding Bodies

Awarding Bodies

Awarding bodies issue awards (qualifications) to recognise your learning. Irish national awarding bodies are included in the NFQ fan diagram. 

The Irish national awarding bodies are listed below:

State Examinations Commission (SEC)

The State Examinations Commission makes school awards. Current awards include the Junior Certificate at NFQ Level 3 and the Leaving Certificate at NFQ Levels 4 and 5

Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

QQI is the national awarding body for tertiary education education and training in Ireland.  Its awards are included in the NFQ from Levels 1 to 10.

Institutes of Technology

Institutes of Technology in Ireland make their own awards at specified levels, ranging from NFQ Level 6 to 10.


The universities in Ireland are:

  • Dublin City University (DCU)
  • Maynooth University (NUI Maynooth)
  • National University of Ireland, Galway (NUI Galway)
  • Technological University Dublin (TU Dublin)
  • Trinity College Dublin (TCD)
  • University College Cork (UCC)
  • University College Dublin (UCD)
  • University of Limerick (UL)

The National University of Ireland (NUI) also makes awards directly in the colleges that it recognises.

back to top

server 01