Medical Device Innovation

TU Dublin - City Campus


Course Name Medical Device Innovation
Course Provider TU Dublin - City Campus
Alternative Provider(s) TU Dublin - Technological University Dublin
Course Code DT710
Course Type Higher Education Direct Entry
Award NameNFQ ClassificationAwarding BodyNFQ Level
Degree - Honours Bachelor (Level 8 NFQ)  More info... Major TU Dublin Level 8 NFQ
Apply To CAO
Attendance Options Full time, Daytime
Location (Districts) Dublin City Centre
Enrolment and Start Dates Comment Apply via the DIT website. Please see Application Weblink below.
Qualification Letters BSc (Hons)
Duration 1 year
Entry Requirements Minimum NFQ Level 7 Degree in an Engineering or cognate Scientific discipline or equivalent. Candidates without relevant CAD background may, as a condition of entry, be required to undertake a support CAD module.
Number of Places 32 places (approximately).
Application Date EU/Non-EU Applications for most programmes must be made by close of business on 30th June 2019.
Application Weblink Web Page - Click Here
Course Content

Expand+What is Medical Device Innovation?
Medical Devices encompasses all products, except medicines, used in healthcare for the diagnosis, prevention, monitoring or treatment of illness or disability. Examples include contact lenses, orthopaedic joint rep...

Subjects Taught Year One
Semester 1
• Anatomy & Physiology
• Basic Principles of Medical Device Technology
• Computer-Aided Design Analysis
• Applied Biomaterials
• Lean/ Six Sigma
• Innovation/ Project Management

Semester 2
• Medical Device Design & Analysis
• Medical Device Manufacturing
• Validation & Regulatory Affairs
• Team Design Project
Comment Location: Bolton St.
Careers or Further Progression

Expand+What are my Career Opportunities?
Based on growth patterns in the sector, career opportunities are very positive. In Ireland, 140 medical technology companies employ 25,000 people, exporting €6.2b worth of products annually. Medical device products ...

Further Enquiries T: 01 402 3832 (Robert Simpson, Programme Chair)