Agriculture - Drystock Herd Management

Kildalton Agricultural College


Course Name Agriculture - Drystock Herd Management
Course Provider Kildalton Agricultural College
Alternative Provider(s) Ballyhaise Agricultural College, Clonakilty Agricultural College, Gurteen Agricultural College, Mountbellew Agricultural College, Salesian Agricultural College, Pallaskenry
Course Code 5M20454 6M20486
Course Type Teagasc
Award NameNFQ ClassificationAwarding BodyNFQ Level
Level 5 Certificate (Level 5 NFQ)  More info... Major QQI Level 5 NFQ
Level 6 Advanced Certificate (Level 6 NFQ)  More info... Major QQI Level 6 NFQ
Apply To Course provider
Attendance Options Full time, Daytime
Location (Districts) Mountbellew, Ballyhaise, Piltown, Gurteen, Pallaskenry, Kildalton
FET Code 5M20454 - Level 5 Agriculture
6M20486 - Level 6 Agriculture
Duration 2 years
Application Date Application Process:
The initial application should be made for the Teagasc Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture Programme. Applications are made online through the Teagasc public website. On successful completion of the Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture, applications can be submitted for the Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agriculture (Drystock Management). (view link below)
Application Weblink Web Page - Click Here
Entry Requirements

Expand+There is a separate application process for each programme. Applicants to the level 5 Certificate must be 17 years or over on 1st January following entry Level 5, and ideally should have completed the senior cycle of second level education.


Interview June/July
Link to Course Fee Web Page - Click Here
Financial Support

The Teagasc Authority approved the introduction of means testing of maintenance grants for students attending Further Level Courses at Teagasc and Private Agricultural Colleges in 2012.

Means testing will apply to Teagasc Level 5 and Level...

Comment Qualifications: These programmes are validated by QQI and successful completion leads to a
• Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture Award (5M20454)
• Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agriculture (6M20486).
Course Content

Expand+The recommended training for someone seeking a career in the drystock farm sector is to complete the Teagasc Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture Programme & Teagasc Level 6 Advanced Certificate in Agriculture (Drystock Management) Programme This t...

Subjects Taught

Expand+What will I study?

Sample content from the Teagasc Level 5 Certificate in Agriculture programme (* Choice of module will be at the discretion of the college / centre):

QQI Code / Title / Level / Credits
5N1433 Work Practice 5 15

Careers or Further Progression

Learners who successfully complete the Advanced Certificate in Agriculture may seek progression opportunities in higher education through the Higher Education Links Scheme. To get full details of the range of Higher Education insti...

Further Enquiries Gurteen: 067 212 82
Kildalton: 051 644 400
Mountbellew: 0909 679205
Pallaskenry: 061 393 100
Ballyhaise: 049 433 8108
Clonakilty: 023 883 2500
Course Web Page Web Page - Click Here