Click on the appropriate letter in the alphabet below to access terms beginning with that letter.


Award is another word used to mean qualification.

There are four main categories of award-type in the Irish National Framework of Qualifications. It is particularly important that learners know if an Award is Major or not. The four categories of Award are:

  • Major Awards (the principal type at each NFQ level)
  • Minor Awards (for partial completion of the outcomes for a Major Award)
  • Supplemental Awards (for learning that is additional to a Major Award)
  • Special Purpose Awards (for purpose-specific achievement)

Further details are available on the NFQ website.

Return to 'A' listings

back to top

server 01