Initial Teacher Education (ITE)

In Ireland, initial teacher education programmes for primary and post-primary teachers are facilitated through a range of concurrent (undergraduate) and consecutive (postgraduate) programmes.

Programmes for primary teachers

There are five state-funded colleges of education which offer a teacher education programme for primary teachers through a four-year concurrent (undergraduate) programme leading to a Bachelor of Education (B.Ed.) degree. Four of the colleges also offer a two year conversion course to become a Primary Teacher if you have a degree in any discipline at Level 8.  Hibernia College, which is a private online higher education college offers a Professional Master of Education in Primary Education accredited by the Department of Education and Skills.  The programme blends online and face-to-face tuition, and is aimed at those who want to continue working while studying for their teaching qualification.

Concurrent Primary Teaching Programmes on Qualifax - Apply via CAO

Consecutive Primary Teaching Programmes on Qualifax

In October 2017, changes were announced setting higher minimum entry standards to primary programmes of initial teacher education for Leaving Certificate Maths and English at Ordinary Level and Irish at Higher Level.
These changes have been deferred for students applying to the Professional Master of Education (PME), and will now apply for those students from September 2021 (update of 10th June 2019).
The higher minimum entry requirements, announced in October 2017, will continue to apply from September 2019 for students planning on entering the undergraduate Bachelor of Education (Primary) programme.

Programmes for post-primary teachers

In order to be entered onto the Register of Teachers on the basis of qualifications in post-primary teaching, applicants must have a suitable third level undergraduate degree and an approved teacher education qualification Professional Masters of Education PME  (Since 2014, all postgraduate teacher training programmes in Ireland are offered at Masters Level and are of 2 years duration).  Students who take concurrent teaching degrees do not need to take the PME as these courses incorporate teacher training during the four-year programme.

Concurrent Post-Primary Programmes on Qualifax - Apply via CAO

Consecutive Post-Primary Programmes on Qualifax

Programmes for further education teachers

Persons applying to register in the Further Education sector must meet the qualification requirements outlined in Route Three of the Teaching Council [Registration] Regulations, 2016.  Any person who meets the degree qualification requirements outlined therein is eligible for conditional registration for a period of three years, in which time a Council accredited teacher education qualification must be completed.

A list of accredited programmes of teacher education for primary, post primary and further education is available here,

Changes to duration of programmes of initial teacher education

With effect from September 2012, in order to retain their professional accreditation from the Teaching Council, all concurrent (undergraduate) programmes of initial teacher education, must be of four years duration (240 ECTS credits).

With effect from September 2014, all consecutive (postgraduate) programmes of initial teacher education must be of two years duration (120 ECTS credits).

Further details in relation to the review and accreditation of programmes is available here.

Further details in relation to entry requirements is available here.

Useful Links:

back to top

server 01