Colleges with RPL Policies

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is a relatively new term for the idea of recognising and counting your previous life / work experiences. Not all education providers deal with RPL in the same way or apply RPL extensively.  Therefore, if you are interested in returning to learning and think RPL may be applicable in your case, please contact the provider directly to discuss your particular circumstances. 

At the moment some Colleges have formal procedures in place and the links below will take you to the right section of the college website. In the case of Colleges not listed here it is always worth contacting the College directly for the latest information.

Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) is the state agency with legislative responsibility for developing policies on RPL within its policies and criteria for access, transfer and progression. Visit the QQI website for more information on this topic.


Athlone Institute of Technology

Cork Institute of Technology

Dublin City University

Dundalk Institute of Technology

Galway - Mayo Institute of Technology

Griffith College

Institute of Art Design & Technology

Institute of Technology Sligo

Institute of Technology Tralee

Letterkenny I.T.

Limerick Institute of Technology

National College of Ireland

NUI Galway

Trinity College Dublin

TU Dublin - Dublin City Campus (formerly DIT)

University College Cork

University College Dublin

University of Limerick

Waterford Institute of Technology


QQI Information

Return to starting page


back to top

server 01